Understanding group operations

Operations are set tasks that can be automatically performed on group members at different stages. Operations can be applied at the following stages:

  • Joining - When a user is added to a group
  • Leaving - When a user is removed from a group
  • Instantaneous - An ad-hoc operation

Adding an operation to a group

To add an operation to a group, do the following:

  1. Within the group, go to Advanced Options > Operations.
  2. Choose from the following options:
    1. To add a joining operation, click Create new operation in the Joining Operations section.
    2. To add a leaving operation, click Create new operation in the Leaving Operations section.
    3. To add an instantaneous operation, click Apply operation now.
  3. From the drop-down list, select the Operation you wish to add.
  4. Click Next.
  5. Configure the operation. See List of group operations for details.
  6. Click Previous to navigate back to the list of operations, or Cancel to exit.
  7. Click OK.

The operation is now listed on the operations screen.

šŸ“˜

Note

If a joining operation is added, and there are existing group members, Click Apply to trigger the operation for all existing members.

Editing an operation

To edit a joining or leaving operation, click Edit and save the changes.

Removing an operation

To remove a joining or leaving operation, select the operation and click Remove.

Re-ordering operations

Administrators can decide the order in which joining and leaving operations are applied. To re-order operations, set the numerical order of the operation in the Reorder fields.





Did this page help you?