User privileges

Privileges are the access rights that each user type has within TopClass. Super Administrators have access to all areas of TopClass and are not restricted in any way.

📘

Note

When an admin role is revoked and then reinstated, any previously configured Admin privileges will be reset to default, and super administrators must reselect necessary Admin privileges.

Privileges (All Users)

Individual users can have different privileges, which Administrators and Super Administrators can set. All user types have access to a default set of privileges, but Instructors have additional privileges. It can be quite time-consuming to set privileges on an individual user basis, so there is a way of doing it by group operations. If the users are split out into groups within the system, you can add joining and leaving operations to a group to set privileges for each user as they join or leave a group.

  • Allow user to change password - Select Yes to allow the user to be able to change their password. If you don't want your user to choose a new password, select No.
  • Manager approval - If set to Yes, and the user has one or more managers, the user’s enrollment requests must be approved by a manager before they can be enrolled in classes.
  • Valid period - Set the time period during which the user may access TopClass. Click the calendar icon to open a date picker where you can scroll through a calendar, month by month, and select the required date.
  • User Price Plans – Set price plan(s) and associated valid period(s) for the user.
    📘

    Note

    See Assigning multiple price plans to users for details. Admin access to price plans and pricing configuration (in Activities, Users, and Group Operations) depends on the Shopping Cart Enabled system setting, not on whether the shopping cart or price plans are visible to end users. Administrators retain full access to these tools as long as Shopping Cart Enabled is set to Yes — even if the shopping cart icon is hidden from the interface and price plans are hidden from the catalog. See System Settings: Configuration and System Settings: Catalog for details.

Privileges (Admin Type Users Only)

Online Instructors are Administrators who have been given certain privileges on their user account that allow them to create and edit classes, content, question pools, and pre- and post-work. A user must be given the Admin user type on their user account so they can be assigned as an Instructor on an Online Activity.

  • Users - The rights of the selected instructor user to create or edit TopClass student users
    • All allows the instructor to create or edit any user.
    • Own allows the instructor to edit the user profiles of students who they have created within TopClass.
    • None prevents the instructor from creating or editing any user profiles.
  • Read Only Users - Allows the instructor to view users in the Users list screen but prevents them from creating or editing any user profiles.
    📘

    Note

    Visible users will be determined by the Users setting above.

  • Classes - The rights of the selected instructor user to create or edit online classes.
    • All classes allows the instructor to create and modify online classes.
    • Own classes allows the instructor to modify their own classes only. Batch registration and batch delete are not possible with this setting.
    • None prohibits the instructor from creating or modifying any class.
  • Certification Programs - Select if the user can create or edit certification programs.
    • All allows the instructor to create and modify certification programs.
    • Own classes allows the instructor to modify his or her own certification programs only.
    • None prohibits the instructor from creating or modifying any certification programs.
  • Edit Course Material - The rights of the selected instructor user to create or edit TopClass online courses and content.
    • All grants the instructor full access to all online courses on TopClass.
    • Controlled allows the instructor to edit online courses that they have rights for on the Edit access rights page.
    • No prevents the instructor from creating or editing online courses.
  • Edit Groups - Select if the user can create or edit groups.
  • Edit Managers - Select if the user can create or edit managers.
  • Category admin - The rights of the selected instructor to administer the catalog categories.
  • ILT Classes - Select if the user can edit All ILT classes, their Own ILT classes, or None of the ILT classes on the system.
  • ILT instructors - Select if the user can edit ILT instructors.
  • Edit ILT resources - Select if the user can edit ILT resources.
  • Other Activities - Select if the user can create or edit other activities, such as Products, Fees, and External Training Templates.
  • Certificates - Select if the user can edit Certificates.
  • Notifications - Select if the user can view, create, and edit Notifications. Users will have access to Automated Notifications, Notification History, and Alert Banners.
  • Transactions - Select if the user can view Transactions (accessible by going to eCommerce > Transactions). This includes the ability to view all transactions across the system, review transaction details for any user, and use the Purchase on Behalf Of option directly from Transactions.
  • Login as User – Select if the user can log in as another user (accessible by going to a user’s account page, selecting Edit, then selecting Log in as this user).
📘

Note

The level of user access is determined by the Users privilege on the Admin Privileges tab. (For example, if an Administrator has access to Own users only, the Administrator can only log in as their own users.) Administrators with the Login as User privilege cannot login as a Super Administrator or another Administrator.

  • Learning Contracts - Select if the user can create and edit Learning Contracts.

    Warning

    When an Administrator is granted Learning Contract privileges, they will have full access to all users in the system via the Learning Contracts invitations.

  • Review Autocorrected Submissions - Select if the user can access and edit scores and comments on Autocorrected Submissions.

  • Reports – Select if the user has unrestricted access to view, create, and edit all Reports and Scheduled Reports

    ⚠️

    Important

    When report access is granted, User privilege is overridden. For example, if an Administrator has access to Own users only or None and report access is granted, they will have full access to all user data in the reports.

  • Customization – Select if the user can modify the customization settings. These settings include Branding, Landing Page, Login Page, News & Promotions, Additional Settings and Cookie Policy.

  • Instructor Reports - Select if the user can access instructor-specific reports. The reports available to instructors are: Aggregate Survey Reponses (Boolean, Pick One, Likert); Aggregate Survey Responses (Text); Statistical Item Analysis; Test Responses; Test Score.

    📘

    Note

    Data will only be returned for users who are assigned to the instructor or who are enrolled in an activity assigned to the instructor.


Did this page help you?